Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC)

Software Testing Life Cycle

Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC) is a systematic and structured approach to verify and validate that a software application meets specified requirements and functions as intended. It encompasses a series of phases, each with specific objectives and activities, ensuring a thorough and efficient testing process. Let’s delve into the key stages of the Software Testing Life Cycle:

1. Requirement Analysis:

  • In this initial phase, testers closely examine the project requirements to gain a clear understanding of the software’s functionalities.
  • Testers collaborate with stakeholders to gather comprehensive information, ensuring that testing scenarios align with business objectives.

2. Test Planning:

  • Test planning involves developing a comprehensive strategy for the testing process, outlining the scope, resources, schedule, and approach.
  • Testers define test objectives, select testing techniques, and allocate resources based on project requirements.

3. Test Case Design:

  • This phase focuses on creating detailed test cases based on the identified requirements and testing scenarios.
  • Testers outline the input data, expected results, and execution steps to ensure systematic and thorough testing coverage.

4. Environment Setup:

  • Testers establish the testing environment, including hardware, software, and network configurations, to mirror the production environment.
  • Ensuring a stable and representative environment is crucial for accurate testing results.

5. Test Execution:

  • During this phase, test cases are executed, and the software is evaluated against expected outcomes.
  • Testers document and report any deviations from expected results, enabling developers to address and rectify issues.

6. Defect Reporting:

  • Detected defects are documented in a detailed manner, providing developers with information needed for efficient debugging.
  • Defects are categorised based on severity and priority to aid in effective issue resolution.

7. Defect Retesting:

  • After developers address reported defects, the affected areas are retested to ensure successful resolution.
  • This iterative process continues until all reported issues are successfully addressed and verified.

8. Regression Testing:

  • As the software evolves, regression testing is performed to confirm that new changes do not adversely impact existing functionalities.
  • Testers re-run selected test cases to validate the integrity of the overall system.

9. Test Closure:

  • The final phase involves formally concluding the testing process and providing a summary report.
  • Testers assess whether the testing goals were achieved, document lessons learned, and propose improvements for future projects.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat
Need Help?
Can we Help you?